Workers Comp Travel Reimbursement Answers by a California Workers Comp Attorney

1. How many injured workers do you represent?

Current active cases unsettled is about 1,000

2. Do you help them submit their travel reimbursement?

Yes our firm does provide them with the form and submits and follows up on them with the adjuster.

3. Do most injured workers know about their entitlement to be reimbursed for mileage and additional travel expenses?

My estimate is about 50% do.

4. What appointments are reimbursable? Ex: IMEs, Hearings, pharmacy, attorney, all doctor visits?

Per California Labor Code they are reimbursed for medical mileage, Attorney visits and court appearances are NOT reimbursed. Travel to and from a deposition of the injured work is also reimbursed.

5. What isn’t reimbursable?

Court appearance or attorney office visits.

6. Do most claimants in California submit their transportation reimbursement? (opinion)

Don’t know what percentage but believe a lot do not request reimbursement.

7. Is taking the subway reimbursable?

California reimburses only based on mileage, accepted by agreement with insurance company. i.e. pay for a monthly bus pass instead.

8. Is taking a taxi reimbursable? (do injured workers need letter of medical necessity).

Any other transportation such as Uber or Taxi would be by agreement and Medical necessity from the injured workers’ treating doctor.

9. Do injured workers need help from an attorney?

I think so, but the latest stats I saw was only about 17% of all loss time cases were represented by a attorney in California.

10. What is the largest issue you see in the travel reimbursement process?

Getting the clients to do it and getting the adjuster to cross reference the reimbursement dates with the doctor visit reports dates to verify. Then getting the adjuster to pay without hounding them.

11. Do attorneys get paid to help claimants submit their reimbursement?

NO.

12. How long, in general, does the reimbursement process take?

We tell our client to complete them and file them ever 30 days and to send us a copy. Those don’t take more than a few minutes of clerical find time. If we are doing it it can take hours to get all the dates of services from the doctor office to prepare the forms for the client to sign. We only do this in may be 5% of the cases

13. What’s the follow up process if not reimbursed?

We wait for the client to call and tell us they have not been paid, then we start with emailing the adjuster, or calling the Defense Attorney

14. Is there a form you can submit for a hearing to receive your travel reimbursement, if not paid?

We can file a Declaration of Readiness DOR for medical treatment, i.e. medical mileage to obtain a hearing.

15. Is there a penalty due if not reimbursed in a specific time limit (such as 60 days)?

Yes, 10% but you are required to send a letter of notification, then if not paid file a petition.

16. Does the travel reimbursement have to be submitted on the CA reimbursement form?

No, detailed start point, end point, mileage and purpose.

17. Does the form have to be signed?

Yes

To easily collect your workers compensation transportation reimbursement, visit www.RoadCash.com

All State Reimbursement Forms Can be Found Here

Workers’ Compensation Reimbursement Forms

Michigan Workers Compensation Mileage & Travel Reimbursement

We asked various questions regarding the Michigan workers compensation mileage reimbursement processes:

Questions Asked & Answers Received

1. Is there a reimbursement for travel expenses? Car, taxi, bus, train, etc.
Yes, travel related expenses for a covered injury should be reimbursed.

2. What is the current workers comp mileage rate?
The current mileage rate is .54 cents per mile.

3. Is there a specific mileage reimbursement form?
The State of Michigan does not have a specific form, the insurance company of record may.

4. Where can I find the Alaska workers comp reimbursement form?
Contact the insurance company.

5. How do I submit the mileage reimbursement form? What’s the process? Email/fax/mail?
That would be up to the claims adjuster as to how they will accept the request.

6. How long does it generally take to receive your transportation reimbursement?
The insurance company has 30 days from the date of receipt to pay.

7. What is the follow up process if reimbursement is not received?
File for a hearing here at the Agency. If you have additional questions please contact the Agency help line at (888) 396-5041.

Travel Reimbursement Rates for Injured Employees
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/wca/Travel_Reimbursement_Rates_478162_7.pdf

All State Reimbursement Forms Can be Found Here

Workers’ Compensation Reimbursement Forms

Above Answers Provided By

Angie Lewis
State of Michigan
Hearing Facilitator
Licensing and Regulator Affairs
Workers Compensation Agency
(517) 284-8893 phone
(517) 284-8899 fax

Locate Your States Workers Comp Agency

Locate Your States Workers’ Compensation Agency

To easily collect your workers compensation transportation reimbursement, visit www.RoadCash.com

Maine Workers Compensation Mileage & Travel Reimbursement

We asked various questions regarding the Maine workers compensation mileage reimbursement processes:

Questions Asked

1. Is there a reimbursement for travel expenses? Car, taxi, bus, train, etc.

2. What is the current workers comp mileage rate?

3. Is there a specific mileage reimbursement form?

4. Where can I find the workers comp mileage reimbursement form?

5. How do I submit the mileage reimbursement form? What’s the process? Email/fax/mail?

6. How long does it generally take to receive your transportation reimbursement?

7. What is the follow up process if my transportation reimbursement is not received?

Answer Received

Travel reimbursement (car) is $00.44 cents per mile… insurance companies do pay for/reimburse travel expenses for/by cab, bus and train. If travel by car is not possible (which, at times, can become a point of dispute) we, the Workers Comp Board, do not require a specific form for travel reimbursement. I presume the carriers themselves do. If an injured employee /recipient disputes the amount of reimbursement paid or offered by the carrier, he/she can contact a Troubleshooter (me) for assistance, we can hold a Mediation Conference if needed.

Workers Comp Reimbursement Form
http://www.maine.gov/wcb/forms/WCB-206.pdf

All State Reimbursement Forms Can be Found Here

Workers’ Compensation Reimbursement Forms

Locate Your States Workers Comp Agency

Locate Your States Workers’ Compensation Agency

To easily collect your workers compensation transportation reimbursement, visit www.RoadCash.com

Kentucky Workers Compensation Mileage & Travel Reimbursement

We asked various questions regarding the Kentucky workers compensation mileage reimbursement processes:

Questions Asked & Answers Received

1. Is there a reimbursement for travel expenses? Car, taxi, bus, train, etc.
Yes, reimbursement is provided for reasonable travel expenses to secure awarded medical treatment, including to and from pharmacy.

2. What is the current Kentucky workers comp mileage rate?
41 cents per mile for this quarter. http://finance.ky.gov/services/statewideacct/Pages/travel.aspx

3. Is there a specific mileage reimbursement form?
http://www.labor.ky.gov/workersclaims/Forms/hb1-114.pdf

4. Where can I find the workers comp mileage reimbursement form?
The Department of Workers’ Claims webpage forms may be found at: http://www.labor.ky.gov/workersclaims/Pages/Forms.aspx

5. How do I submit the mileage reimbursement form? What’s the process? Email/fax/mail?
The completed Form 114 and attachments should be sent to the adjuster at the worker’s compensation carrier/TPA paying benefits on the claim. Sender should check with the adjuster to see the preferred way of receipt.

6. How long does it generally take to receive your transportation reimbursement?
Requests for reimbursement should be sent within sixty (60) days of being incurred. Payment should be processed as soon as possible, but beyond 60 days would be cause for concern and the request should be checked on for any problems.

7. What is the follow up process if my transportation reimbursement is not received?
See above, the adjuster should be contacted if reimbursement exceeds 60 days without communication of difficulties. Parties may call a Workers’ Compensation Specialist at 800-554-8601 for assistance.

All State Workers Compensation Mileage Reimbursement Forms Can be Found Here

Workers’ Compensation Reimbursement Forms

Above Answers Provided By

John W. Mann
Chief Workers’ Compensation Specialist
Kentucky Labor Cabinet
Kentucky Department of Workers’ Claims
Division of Ombudsman & Workers’ Compensation Specialist Services

Locate Your States Workers Comp Agency

Locate Your States Workers’ Compensation Agency

To easily collect your workers compensation transportation reimbursement, visit www.RoadCash.com

Iowa Workers Compensation Mileage & Travel Reimbursement

We asked various questions regarding the Iowa workers compensation mileage reimbursement processes:

Questions Asked & Answers Received

1. Is there a reimbursement for travel expenses? Car, taxi, bus, train, etc.
Only if it has to do with medical treatment and they would have to be “reasonable and necessary transportation expenses incurred for such services”.

2. What is the current Iowa workers comp mileage rate?
As of 7-1-16 to 6-30-17 it is .54 cents per mile

3. Is there a specific mileage reimbursement form?
You would need to contact the insurance company handling the claim.

4. Where can I find the workers comp mileage reimbursement form?
You would need to contact the insurance company handling the claim.

5. How do I submit the mileage reimbursement form? What’s the process? Email/fax/mail?
You would need to contact the insurance company handling the claim.

6. How long does it generally take to receive your transportation reimbursement?
You would need to contact the insurance company handling the claim.

7. What is the follow up process if my transportation reimbursement is not received?
You may have to get an attorney involved.

All State Reimbursement Forms Can be Found Here

Workers’ Compensation Reimbursement Forms

Above Answers Provided By

Penny.Maxwell@iwd.iowa.gov

Locate Your States Workers Comp Agency

Locate Your States Workers’ Compensation Agency

To easily collect your workers compensation transportation reimbursement, visit www.RoadCash.com

Indiana Workers Compensation Mileage & Travel Reimbursement

We asked various questions regarding the Indiana workers compensation mileage reimbursement processes:

Questions Asked

1. Is there a reimbursement for travel expenses? Car, taxi, bus, train, etc.

2. What is the current mileage rate?

3. Is there a specific form?

4. Where can I find the form?

5. How do I submit the form, process? Email/fax/mail?

6. How long does it generally take to receive reimbursement?

7. What is the follow up process if reimbursement is not received?

Answer Received

The current mileage rate is $.38 a mile. You are only reimbursed if you travel outside the county from which you were injured for treatment. I would think each of the insurance companies would have a specific way of reimbursing you. You would need to check with your claim representative on their procedures.

If you do not get the mileage check you can always contact either myself or Mr. Baxter and file the request for assistance form.

All State Reimbursement Forms Can be Found Here

Workers’ Compensation Reimbursement Forms

Above Answers Provided By

Beth Wallace
Indiana Worker’s Compensation Board
402 W. Washington ST Room W196
Indianapolis, IN 46204-2753
317-233-3908
317-233-5493 fax

Locate Your States Workers Comp Agency

Locate Your States Workers’ Compensation Agency

To easily collect your workers compensation transportation reimbursement, visit www.RoadCash.com

Hawaii Workers Compensation Mileage & Travel Reimbursement

We asked various questions regarding the Hawaii workers compensation mileage reimbursement processes:

Questions Asked & Answers Received

1. Is there a reimbursement for travel expenses? Car, taxi, bus, train, etc.
Yes, there is a reimbursement for travel expenses. Please refer to the link below HAR 12-10-25 Travel reimbursement.

2. What is the current workers comp mileage rate?
54 cents/mile

3. Is there a specific mileage reimbursement form?
No specific form

4. Where can I find the workers comp mileage reimbursement form?
Please refer to #3

5. How do I submit the mileage reimbursement form? What’s the process? Email/fax/mail?
Contact the insurance company if they accept email and fax other than mail.

6. How long does it generally take to receive your transportation reimbursement?
No timeframe. Contact insurance company directly for status.

7. What is the follow up process if my transportation reimbursement is not received?
Contact the insurance company. If no response, request a hearing by completing form WC-77 Request for Hearing. Here is the link http://labor.hawaii.gov/dcd/files/2013/01/WC-77A.pdf

Hawaii Workers Compensation Reimbursement Law
§12-10-25 Travel reimbursement. An employee who is required to obtain medical treatment shall use public conveyances whenever possible and shall be entitled to travel reimbursement. If the employee is unable to use public conveyances because of a physical condition, the nature of the injury, or geographical location, travel reimbursement by the most direct route shall be allowed. When such visits are made before or after work, or during working hours, only the excess miles outside of the normal route shall be allowed. Reimbursement for mileage shall be in accordance with Hawaii state government standards. [Eff: 4/30/81] (Auth: HRS §386-72) (Imp: HRS §386-21)

All State Reimbursement Forms Can be Found Here

Workers’ Compensation Reimbursement Forms

Above Answers Provided By

Marrietta V. Corpuz
Workers’ Compensation Facilitator Section
Phone: (808) 586-9160
Fax: (808) 586-9219

Locate Your States Workers Comp Agency

Locate Your States Workers’ Compensation Agency

To easily collect your workers compensation transportation reimbursement, visit www.RoadCash.com

Florida Workers Compensation Mileage & Travel Reimbursement

We asked various questions regarding the Florida workers compensation mileage reimbursement processes:

Questions Asked & Answers Received

1. Is there a reimbursement for travel expenses? Car, taxi, bus, train, etc.
Insurance carriers do reimburse injured employees for mileage when the employee uses his or her private vehicle for transportation to and from the doctor, and to and from the pharmacy.

2. What is the current workers comp mileage rate?
The current mileage reimbursement rate is 44.5 cents per mile.

3. Is there a specific mileage reimbursement form?
Some insurance carriers do require the use of a specific form.

4. Where can I find workers comp mileage reimbursement the form?
Contact your insurance carrier to determine if a specific form is required.

5. How do I submit the mileage reimbursement form? What’s the process? Email/fax/mail?
Generally, carriers require injured employees to complete the form and mail it to the adjustor handling his or her claim.

6. How long does it generally take to receive your transportation reimbursement?
The carrier has 45 days from the date they receive the request for reimbursement to make a payment.

7. What is the follow up process if my transportation reimbursement is not received?
Contact the carrier and speak with your adjustor.

Workers Comp Reimbursement Form
http://www.myfloridacfo.com/division/risk/WorkersCompensation/Documents/07.Mileage_Reimbursement_Form_03-2013.pdf

All State Reimbursement Forms Can be Found Here

Workers’ Compensation Reimbursement Forms

Above Answers Provided By

Wallace Ward
Insurance Administrator

Locate Your States Workers Comp Agency

Locate Your States Workers’ Compensation Agency

To easily collect your workers compensation transportation reimbursement, visit www.RoadCash.com

Connecticut Workers Compensation & Travel Reimbursement

We asked various questions regarding the Connecticut workers compensation mileage reimbursement processes:

Questions Asked & Answers Received

1. Is there a reimbursement for travel expenses? Car, taxi, bus, train, etc.
Yes

2. What is the current workers comp mileage rate?
$0.54/mile

3. Is there a specific mileage reimbursement form?
http://wcc.state.ct.us/download/acrobat/mileage.pdf

4. Where can I find the workers comp mileage reimbursement form?
On the above website

5. How do I submit the mileage reimbursement form? What’s the process? Email/fax/mail?
Contact your employers’ workers’ compensation insurer for their procedure.

6. How long does it generally take to receive your transportation reimbursement?
Contact your employers’ workers’ compensation insurer for their procedure.

7. What is the follow up process if my transportation reimbursement is not received?
Contact us here. 860-493-1534
It may be necessary to request a hearing with a workers’ compensation commissioner.

Connecticut Workers Compensation Reimbursement Law

Sec. 31-312. Compensation for time lost during and expense of medical treatment. Reimbursement of wages lost due to appearance at informal hearing. Payments to prevailing claimants in contested cases. Medical attention outside regular work hours. (a) An employee receiving medical attention under the provisions of this chapter and required to be absent from work for medical treatment, examination, laboratory tests, x-rays or other diagnostic procedures, and not otherwise receiving or eligible to receive weekly compensation, shall be compensated for the time lost from the job for required medical treatment and tests at the rate of such employee’s average earnings, but not less than at the minimum wage established by law, provided the amount payable in any one week shall not exceed the employee’s weekly compensation rate. Time lost from the job shall include necessary travel time from the plant to the place of treatment, the time for the treatment and any other time that is necessary for the treatment, examination or laboratory test. The employer shall furnish or pay for the transportation of the employee by ambulance or taxi where transportation is medically required from the point of departure for treatment and return. In all other cases, the employer shall furnish the employee transportation or reimbursement for the cost of transportation actually used, at a rate equal to the federal mileage reimbursement rate for use of a privately owned automobile set forth in 41 CFR Part 301-10.303, as from time to time amended, for a private motor vehicle or the cost incurred for public transportation, from the employee’s point of departure, whether from the employee’s home or place of employment, and return, if the employee is required to travel beyond a one-fare limit on an available common carrier from the point of departure to the place of treatment, examination or laboratory test. Where the medical attention or treatment is provided at a time other than during the employee’s regular working hours and the employee is not
otherwise receiving or eligible to receive weekly compensation, the employee shall be compensated for the time involved for the medical treatment as though it were time lost from the job at the rate of the employee’s average hourly earnings and shall be paid for the cost of necessary transportation as provided in this subsection.

All State Reimbursement Forms Can be Found Here

Workers’ Compensation Reimbursement Forms

Above Answers Provided By

Eric Rentz
Education and Safety Coordinator
State of CT Workers’ Compensation Commission
Office of the Chairman
21 Oak St. Hartford, CT 06106
(860) 493-1589
eric.rentz@ct.gov

Locate Your States Workers Comp Agency

Locate Your States Workers’ Compensation Agency

To easily collect your workers compensation transportation reimbursement, visit www.RoadCash.com

Arizona Workers Compensation Mileage & Travel Reimbursement

We asked various questions regarding the Arizona workers compensation mileage and travel reimbursement processes:

Questions Asked & Answers Received

1. Is there a reimbursement for travel expenses? Car, taxi, bus, train, etc.
Yes.

2. What is the current workers comp mileage rate?
The current rate is 44.5 for automobiles and 99.5 for aircraft.

3. Is there a specific mileage reimbursement form?
The insurance company usually does have a form that you would fill out and file, you would have to contact your adjuster for this form.

4. Where can I find the workers comp mileage reimbursement form?
See the answer to the above question.

5. How do I submit the mileage reimbursement form? What’s the process? Email/fax/mail?
The form would be submitted to your adjuster.

6. How long does it generally take to receive your transportation reimbursement?
Contact your adjuster at the insurance carrier.

7. What is the follow up process if my transportation reimbursement is not received?
If reimbursement is not received you can file a request for hearing through us here at the ICA.

All State Reimbursement Forms Can be Found Here

Workers’ Compensation Reimbursement Forms

Above Answers Provided By

Robert P. Galyen, Ombudsman
Industrial Commission of Arizona
800 W. Washington St., Phoenix, Arizona 85007
P: (602) 542-3397 | F: (602) 542-4350
Robert.Galyen@azica.gov www.azica.gov

Locate Your States Workers Comp Agency

Locate Your States Workers’ Compensation Agency

To easily collect your workers compensation transportation reimbursement, visit www.RoadCash.com